Heading Logo

All-league teams announced

Published: March 16, 2017 12:00 AM
  • 1 of 8 Photos | View More Photos

The Inter-Valley Conference, Northeastern Buckeye Conference, and Stark County High School Bowling League have announced their all-star teams for the winter sports season.


Boys Basketball

Junior Connor Wright received NBC first-team honors, junior Brock Croston was named to the second team, and seniors Adam Gross and Jack Hanley received honorable-mention status.

Louisville's Chris Libertore was selected the NBC Player of the Year, and Alliance's Larry Kukura was named the NBC Coach of the Year.

[Article continues below]

Alliance and Louisville shared the league title with 12-2 records. They were followed by Minerva at 8-6, Carrollton at 8-6, Marlington at 6-8, Salem at 4-10, Canton South at 3-11 and West Branch at 3-11.

Girls Basketball

Senior Bri Gassman was selected to the NBC first team, junior Lauren Frigyes was named to the second team, and senior Alivia Bates and junior Madi Pearson were selected to the honorable-mention squad.

NBC Player of the Year honors went to Louisville's Sarah Lairson, and West Branch's Walt DeShields picked was named the NBC Coach of the Year.

West Branch won the team title with a 13-1 mark. It was followed by Louisville at 12-2, Marlington at 10-4, Minerva at 8-6, Salem at 5-9, Canton South at 5-9, Carrollton at 3-11, and Alliance at 0-14.

[Article continues below]


Selected to the NBC second team are senior Alex Lucas, junior Travis Kuttler, and freshman Luke Chaddock. Honorable-mention status went to juniors Jay Chaddock and Connor Fritz.

Aidan Pasiuk was selected as the NBC Wrestler of the Year; and his coach and dad, Ken Pasiuk, was named the NBC Coach of the Year.

Carrollton won its third straight league title with a perfect 7-0 mark. It was followed by Louisville at 6-1, Alliance at 5-2, West Branch at 4-3, Minerva at 3-4, Canton South at 2-5, Marlington at 1-6, and Salem at 0-7.

Boys Bowling

Junior Brendan Garrison had the third best average with a 208 and was named to the American Division first team. Second-team honors went to senior Tony Berry (193) and sophomore Jordan Strader (192).

Carrollton won the American Division with a 12-0 record. it was followed by Alliance at 10-2, Minerva at 6-5, Massillon at 5-7, Canton South at 4-7, Central at 3-9, and Heritage at 0-11.

Girls Bowling

Freshman Megan Keister led the American Division with a 200 average. Joining her on the first is junior Katlyn Smalley (189). Named to the second team are freshman Skylar Timmerman (174), junior Carsen Albert (169) and senior Hannah Rodgers (164).

Carrollton captured the girls title with an 9-1 record. It was followed by Minerva at 8-2, Canton South at 7-3, Alliance at 5-7, Massillon at 5-7, and Central at 1-10.


Girls Basketball

Junior Kelsi Hulit was selected to the IVC first team. Second-team honors went to seniors Hunter Martin and Tara Tucci, and sophomore Jasmine Goldsworthy received honorable-mention status.

Hiland's Angela Troyer was selected the IVC Player of the Year, and Hiland's Dave Schlabach received Coach of the Year honors.

Hiland captured the team title with a perfect 16-0 mark. It was followed by Malvern at 13-3, Garaway at 12-4, Ridgewood at 11-5, Tusky Central at 6-10, Sandy Valley at 6-10, East Canton at 6-10, Strasburg at 1-15, and Newcomerstown at 1-15.

Boys Basketball

IVC first-team honors went to senior Jaret Majestic and junior Mark Mayle. Junior Drew Hutchison was named to the second team, and junior Jake Moser received honorable-mention status.

Garaway's Ty Hamsher was named the IVC Player of the Year, and Strasburg's Adam Hall was selected the IVC Coach of the Year.

Strasburg won the title with a 14-2 mark. The Tigers were followed by Garaway at 13-3, Hiland at 13-3, Malvern at 10-6, Sandy Valley at 8-8, Tusky Central at 5-11, East Canton at 4-12, Ridgewood at 3-13 and Newcomerstown at 2-14.


Second-team honors went to senior Josh Gastin and freshman Tyler Banta.

Ridgewood's Colton Bethel was named the IVC Wrestler of the Year, and Garaway's Cedric Gerber received the IVC Coach of the Year award.

Garaway placed first at the IVC Tournament. It was followed by Ridgewood, Sandy Valley, Malvern, Newcomerstown and Tusky Central.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.