Heading Logo

Malvern boys basketball hands out player awards

Published: April 6, 2017 12:00 AM

Jaret Majestic, Mark Mayle, Drew Hutchison, Jake Moser and Brandon Patterson received special awards during the boys basketball portion of the Malvern Winter Sports Banquet.

Majestic received the Offensive Player of the Year Award. The senior leaves Malvern second on the all-time scoring list with 1,717 points.

He was selected as the District 5 Co-MVP, and was named to the Inter-Valley Conference, District 5 and East District first teams; and to the Division IV All-Ohio special mention team. He will play in the East-West All-Star Game, as well as the state's North-South All-Star Game.

Mark Mayle was honored with the Defensive Player of the Year Award. The junior was named to the IVC and East District first teams, District 5 second team, and to the Division IV All-Ohio third team.

Drew Hutchison received the Best Passer Award. The junior was selected to the IVC second team, District 5 honorable mention, and East District special mention.

[Article continues below]

Jake Moser picked up the Coach's Award. The junior was selected to the IVC and East District honorable-mention teams.

Junior Brandon Patterson received the Most Improved Player Award.

Receiving his fourth varsity letter is Jaret Majestic.

Three-year lettermen are Drew Hutchison and Mark Mayle.

Earning their second varsity letter are seniors Jordan Browning and Jack Naiman, and Jake Moser.

First-year lettermen included junior Christian Grimm and Brandon Patterson.

Reserve awards went to juniors Joe Glover, Spencer Rabbitt and Ike Moser; sophomores Sam Earl and Chase Meyer. Freshmen earning JV accolades included Jake Onul, Dakota DeLong, Jaden Goldsworthy, Ryan Peshina, Ken Tschantz, Zach Untch and Davair Williams.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.